Skip to Main Content
COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC campuses are closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.

Scholarships for Current Theatre Majors

Theatre students majoring in all areas of theatre can apply for departmental merit scholarships, for special research opportunities and summer study. *You need to be logged into your UMBC account to apply for the Scholarships. Applications are available via links below:

Department of Theatre Scholarship – awarded to theatre students on the basis of academic accomplishment and service to the department. Awards generally range from $500 to $1,200 applied to tuition. Applicants must have been theatre majors for two semesters. Students apply in the spring semester. Scholarships may be received twice.

Alice M. Robinson Memorial Scholarship – This legacy scholarship was established by former Theatre Professor Alice M. Robinson to support a Theatre major or a student intending to major in Theatre.

Darrel W. and Dorothy J. Anderson Endowed Scholarship – This endowed fund was established by Darrel W. and Dorothy J. Anderson in honor of their families. The Scholarship provides some funds to support a Theatre major with financial need.

William T. Brown Shakespeare on Wheels Award – Awarded to theatre majors to attend professional workshops or seminars in their area of study in the United States or abroad.

Undergraduate Research Awards (URAs) provide up to $1,500 in support for recipients to work with a UMBC faculty mentor on an original project. A multidisciplinary faculty review committee chooses recipients on a competitive basis, and all fields of study are eligible to apply.

If you have any questions about scholarships and scholarship applications please contact